Reviewed by 12 customers

Already own it? Log in to write a review

Thank you for submitting your review! It will be reviewed by our staff before it is posted.

Iryna - Best ever!
08/10/2016
This is the best beauty product I have ever used! I gave up powders all together since I got it! It really helps to keep my forehead and my nose shine free trough out the day. And it smooths pores as well.
I just wish Paula's Choice would make a mini size for carrying it around in a purse for touch ups!
Marianne - Excellent!
02/06/2016
I just love this product and wouldn't travel without it. I had a real tendency to shine, especially after a while, and this product just keeps me matte, in all types of weather. I did what another PC user recommnded, used a make-up sponge and dapped it on and then give it a minute to set, which is what I believe makes all the difference with the Shine Stopper working or not. I even found the method worked excellently if I needed to go out again in the evening, I could just add a bit on top of my make-up, and my make-up just stayed put and undisturbed.
Really, keeps me matte all day like nothing else has ever done, and so easy to touch up if I need to. Truly excellent!
magda - ok without foundation
22/04/2016
Ive bought a sample size of the product. the problem for me is that it mixes up with my make up (yes I've let the product sit on my skin for a while before applying the other product). I've tried it both ways, shine stopper before foundation and shine stopper after my foundation. same result. the product mix sits in my pores and produces little dots where my pores are (nose, cheeks), it also crumbles up with my facial hair (tiny hair between eyebrows that i don't plug etc). i could go and use the product without foundation that would work fine, but in combination it simply doesn't work for me. is there anything else i could try?
Hector - Nothing better out there
31/01/2014
It really does what it promises. Nothing out there performs like this because this is the only and definitive one. It should be included within the ingredients of Paula's products for oily skin because it really keeps away oil and shine, leaving the skin with a silky look and feeling: And it lasts for almost whole day. This is a must. Holy science!.
Michaela - The best mattifier I've ever tried!
26/08/2013
I have combination skin with a very oily t-zone. Other similar products have at most given me 2-3 shine free hours - with this product I stay matte almost all day! I apply it around 7am and usually don't need to touch up with powder until around 5pm. This may not sound fantastic, but if you take in to comparison the oil spill that occurs on my face every day - it's a miracle worker! Definitely re-purchasing this product.
raluca - need additional instruction
07/11/2012
I have added the product into my chart, as I am extremely interested to buy it. Now, after reading some reviews I am pretty confused about how do I need to apply it, for getting the best results.
Customer Care: For best results follow these application tips:
Dispense a pea-sized amount and using clean fingers or a foundation sponge, dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skin-care routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed.
Artemis - Excellent results
11/07/2012
While I must say that I use foundation and powder appropriate for my combination skin over this, it is definitely the very best preparation for a shine-free complexion as far as I'm concerned. I live in Greece so the performance is tested very hard in the summer and I'm very happy with it. Will keep repurchasing!
Els - Tot nog toe briljant!
17/04/2012
Ongelooflijk, het werkt echt!
Ik heb een klein beetje van mijn eerste proefmonster hiervan gebruikt en ben nu al verslaafd! Zoek al 30 jaar naar een daadwerkelijk helpend anti-glim middel, maar moest me tot nu toe behelpen met oliedeppende doekjes. Heb nu al 10 uur lang een matte huid zonder glim. Pas echt briljant is dat mijn porieën veel kleiner zijn daar waar ik het voorzichtig op de huid gedept heb (gewoon er bovenop kloppen met mijn vingers over de UV creme).
Ik stond met mijn leesbril op de spiegel gedrukt toen ik het op bracht en zag daaronder mijn porieën werkelijk meteen wegsmelten. Nu maar hopen dat het blijft werken (als het niet zo is dan horen jullie dat nog)... en zo ja, dan hoop ik dat dit product lang in het NL assortiment blijft!
Hattie - Excellent product
25/01/2012
The best thing about this product is that it makes my pores look smaller and my skin generally more refined. It does not keep my skin shine free all day but then no products does. I would not be without this wonderful product.
Josephine - No for me
27/12/2011
I was really looking forward to this product but what a disappointment! Maybe my forehead was shine-free for one hour.. I tried to apply it in different ways but that didn't help. maybe its works better if you don't use make up..Cuztomer care : We apologize that this product has not completely met your expectations. We will be sure to share your feedback with Paula and her team.For the best results dab (do not rub) lightly over oily areas as the last step of your skin-care routine or over your foundation. If you wish to apply powder or blush over Shine Stopper, let Shine Stopper set completely first. Reapply as needed. Please know that we do offer a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee.
Ex-shiny skin - End of days for people concerned about oily and shiny skin
27/07/2011
About anti-shine products...this one is truly the best product out there. It keeps my skin matte on the worst situation: at warm summer weather, with a spf 50 over my face. Despite of applying those shine makers, my face keeps matte for the whole rest of the day. It has made a more comfortable way to use my spf routine at summer. It even makes a better general appearance!. A must for oily skin or any other on summer time. Paula, you hit the target, again.

Btw, is there any problem if I blend it with my spf cream instead of applying it underneath? Customer care: We wouldn’t recommend doing this since it could possibly interact with the SPF. The best application method is to apply the Shine Stopper before the SPF, although you can pat a small amount on, after the SPF has absorbed into the skin (1-2 minutes.)
Eric - Outstanding stuff !
27/07/2011
I've been using this stuff since its launch in January 2011, but I've waited a long time before leaving a feedback because I had a love/hate relationship with it. I have an oily skin with very oily areas (like my nose which is as shiny as a discoball about 2 hours after washing). This product has really good points : nice lighweight creamy consistency, leaves an invisible finish, blurs pores, does not dry skin (almost the most important point for my easily dehydrated skin) and controls oils for several hours (but no more than 3-4 hours when the weather is hot and humid). The bad points I noticed : the cream formula can leave streaks if massaged for too long, all powders do not cling well to it, can flake if I use too much (depending on how I apply it, I'll explain why later). I've used it several ways : with a flat top brush, a concealer/foundation brush, a taklon powder brush, a dual fiber brush and my fingers The best way to get a smooth finish was the concealer/foundation brush but I tend to use too much and it flaked when I applied powder. The best matte finisg was when I used my fingers, I used less product (and it did not flake anymore) but I needed to dab dab dab dab or I did not get a smooth surface. Then a Paula's fan said on PC's facebook page that she used a makeup sponge (I did not try this way)... what a difference !!! Since, I've used the Shine Stopper only with makeup sponges (either latex or non-latex) and the finish is flawless each time, with a smooth matte skinlike surface, no whitening effect, no more streaking, no more flaking :-) Thank you Paula for creating such a comfortable non-irritating and non-drying oil-aborber :-D